Mother’s Day DIY

I absolutely LOVE my mamma. She taught me how to bake a mean pie, how to be an independent women, and she once bought me a book of crafts that cost no money to make, i.e. my bible. And although I love her to pieces, I am still ALWAYS late with a Mother’s Day gift. It falls in the midst of wedding season, and while that’s no excuse, I’m using it. So this year, I looked to intern Taya for a quick, thoughtful, awesome gift I could make in an evening. Now if only she lived closer, I could just drop it off!

Taya found this super cute DIY in the land of Pinterest and tried it our herself! Looks so lovely!

 

Mother’s Day Salt Dough Bowl
TayaSaltBowl

Ingredients

Flour: 1 cup

Salt: 1 Cup

Water: ½ a Cup

 

Tools/Supplies

Mixing bowl, wax paper, rolling pin. Rolling cutter or sharp knife, measuring cup, doily mod podge (satin or gloss), paintbrush, small metal bowl, and tin foil.

Step 1: Mix ingredients, adding water as needed. Dough should feel like playdough (not crumbly and not wet). If dough is too wet knead in some flour.

Step 2: Sprinkle a sheet of wax paper with flour, form dough into a ball, sprinkle with additional flour and roll into a flat ¼ inch disk. Plan on flour flying everywhere.

Step 3: Place a plate face side down onto dough disk. Trim with rotary cutter.

Step 4: Place doily onto flat trimmed disk of dough and roll lightly with rolling pin to make impression of lace. Peel off doily.

Step 5: Lay the dough disk into a bowl. I used a glass bowl which probably wasn’t one of my smarter ideas. Then put it in the freezer for 20 minutes to hold its shape. After that I put it into a foil lined stainless steel bowl for the oven.

Step 6: Bake at 200° for about 2 hours. This is where the mother’s day love comes into play! I was so impatient waiting for this.

Step 7: Wait even longer for it to Cool Completely!

Step 8: Seal by painting mod podge on both sides.

Step 9: Mother’s Day Jewelry Bowl Complete!

Leave a Reply

